Announcement!

I waited more than 24 hours to receive this email:

“Your Entry is CONFIRMED.”

“This year, the B.A.A. will host a 5K timed road race in place of the traditional Freedom Run. The B.A.A. 5K will take place the day prior to the running of the 113th Boston Marathon. The race will offer a fun and competitive course for athletes and – for those who have always dreamed of crossing the Boston Marathon finish line – a ‘non-qualifying’ chance to do so.”

How cool is this? When my girlfriend sent me the link, I knew I couldn’t pass it up. I’m going to be there anyway, and what a unique opportunity to be a part of this inaugural event and cross the finish line of the Boston Marathon!

B.A.A. 5K

***

Yesterday I enjoyed the gorgeous weather and went for a run around our little local lake in short sleeves! Looks like another beautiful day today, but I’ll be taking the day off and aiming for 12-13K tomorrow.

Friday:
7.29KM/4.5mi
41:38

38 thoughts on “Announcement!

  1. that’s amazing Marlene! I saw that 5k the other day, and thought about you… How cool is that! Congrats on signing up for it. No more sleeps!! 🙂

  2. Awesome run route! I can’t believe you guys are in short sleeves. It was supposed to snow here but looks pretty sunny out so here’s hoping I get my 10km in. And wow, that will be amazing to cross the Boston Marathon finish line…so much fun.

  3. Great news!How exciting!I’m lovin the warm weather but it is taking a toll on me…getting used to running in the heat after running in 20-50 degrees

Say what?

