Week in Review

Monday

Met a couple friends after work for a leisurely (paved) trail run followed by dinner. My legs felt heavy and slow, but good company made the time fly by. 9.5K (5.9mi) / 54:33.

Tuesday

HOT (High Octane Training): the usual ass-kicking.

Wednesday

Dropped my car off for service and ran to my Mom’s house. Gotta love a south-bound run with constant winds from the south. Crazy hills too! The huge climb from about 2K to 5.5K almost did me in. 9.7K (6mi) / 56:26.

Thursday

Marathon clinic. Awesome pep talk from our instructor where the primary message was:

Just because you have a bad run doesn’t mean you suck. Define yoursrlf by your good runs. If you can do it once, you can do it again, so figure out what factors contribute to a good vs bad run and don’t be a whiney baby. (I think a lot ofd us needed to hear this.)

We completed a ladder-style interval workout: 3K warm-up, 800, 1200, 1600, 1200, 800 intervals, 2K cool-down. During the first 800, I did not think I would be able to complete the workout but took it one “leg” at a time and what a feeling of satisfaction when we were done. The mile just about killed me! Each interval was completed at sub-5:00/KM pace (equiv. 8:03/mile). Overall: 11.02K (6.85mi) / 59:53.

Friday

Much needed rest!


Saturday

Long run. Woke up to constant 40kph winds wirh 50+ gusts. It pretty much sucked the life out of me, especially the last 4K being entirely uphill and into the crazy winds. I could hardly walk in a straight line, let alone run. Nonetheless, I got ‘er done. 22.95K (14.26mi) / 2:21:54.

Sunday

Volunteered at the first official Angus Glen 10-Miler, taking place on the cart paths of the Angus Glen golf club. The event sold out at 350 runners and walkers and it was a huge success, definitely on my “list” for next year.

***

I hope everyone had a great weekend. Back to the grind tomorrow!

24 thoughts on “Week in Review

  1. That interval/ladder workout sounds intense! I sometimes have to take those workouts one repeat/interval thing at a time! Great job this week! Hope you had a good weekend!!

  2. Sounds like you had a great week! I don’t know which I hate more: wind or hills, but combine the two and that had to have been a tough run. And its true about having a bad run. Yes, it stays with you, but only until the next run.

  3. “Just because you have a bad run doesn’t mean you suck.” That is such an important lesson to learn. I keep learning it, unlearning it, and having to relearn it!!!Looks like you had a great week.

Say what?

