This is the life

We had a smooth drive to Sharbot Lake (outside Ottawa) this morning. The cottage is beautiful with the best of both worlds – a secluded property on a tiny lake, but having all the comforts of home (including wireless internet).

We relaxed by the lake, did a little kayaking, had a big pasta dinner and played some cards. The only thing missing was a cold BEvERage, but we have to save that for the post-race celebration.

There are seven adults staying here and I still managed to score my own private sleeping quarters. Not bad for $0 a night.

I even found a little goodie basket in my room with treats and inspirational quotes.

My official goal for tomorrow is to enjoy the course (I’ve never even been to Ottawa), have fun and feel good finishing. I’m thinking something around 2:00 (a feat that wiped me out just six months ago).

But for now, it’s time to tuck myself into bed – we have a 4:00AM wake-up call!

(Make sure you check out the power bar recipe [below] if you haven’t already – I’m telling you, they’re the best!)

25 thoughts on “This is the life

  1. I know you won’t see this until after your race but GOOD LUCK anyways! And do enjoy the course, Ottawa is a nice course going by so many landmarks and tourist attractions.

  2. that cottage is beautiful!!! I love the way you wrote BEvERage..hahah. hope you have a cold one waitin for ya after the race!!

  3. that cottage is beautiful!!! I love the way you wrote BEvERage..hahah. hope you have a cold one waitin for ya after the race!!

  4. Hope you had a blast! I definitely had a few too many glasses of wine with dinner tonight – but it’s not helping with the pain in my legs now!

Say what?

