Let the training begin

Last night we kicked off the summer session of our marathon clinic. Same instructor, same pace group leaders (I’ll be sticking with the 4:00 group again, although I don’t anticipate a 4:00 marathon), many of the same members and new faces too – it’s going to be awesome.

Our official goal race is the Toronto Waterfront Marathon (where I will seek redemption) but some people will be training towards other fall marathons. I love the variety of our experiences and goals and I know it’s going to be a fun summer. I just have to make sure I’m not sidelined by another freak accident.

The group meets Thursdays for our weekly chat/guest speaker(s) and speed work and on Sundays for long runs. Many people also get together on Wednesdays for a 10K run so I’ll try to get in on that action whenever I can.

I don’t have a copy of the complete program yet, but I’ll post more details once I do.

Our coach was kind enough to bring in a CD for everyone with photos taken throughout last session. Here’s a sampling.

That’s me introducing myself on our first night way back in January:

The 4:00 pace group before our first Sunday run (far right):

Some of our group before the Mississauga Marathon:

And a couple more from Ottawa:

***

I’m heading out for 16K after work since MudRun will be taking the place of my long run on Sunday. I expect tired legs this evening because (a) it’ll be my 4th day in a row running and (b) I don’t think I have ever run >13K after work, but I’ll get through it!

27 thoughts on “Let the training begin

  1. Ooh, 16k after work? I hope you've got some indulgent post-run Friday night plans! Also, why don't you anticipate a 4:00 marathon? Did I miss something between your speedyspeedy 13.1s and now?

  2. it's SO awesome that you have a running coach and a team!!!! can't wait to hear more about the schedule!! oh and let me know what you think of that running from the devil book!

  3. I am training with a group that is targeting Scotia. We are looking at the Advanced Marathon plan that is on their website. Check it out, it incorporates race pace runs every other week. I think we will morph this will a Pfitz type plan. Happy training, and you don't need any "redemption", but you will kick the crap out of scotia I'm sure!

  4. Cool pics! 🙂 It's gotta be so nice to have a Group you train with. I'm realizing that one of the Biggest things I love about running is that 'community' feeling – running with others, sharing experiences, blogging, motivating each other, etc. Sounds like you have a great summer And training session ahead of you! 🙂

  5. I miss my Marathon training group. I made good friends with the members of the Mpls. training program. Here in SLO, there isn't a training program so I have to coach myself.

  6. Sounds like a fun group! I wish I could run with a group, but unfortunately, my schedule revolves around my kids' school schedule, sigh.Hope you had a nice run.MCM Mama

  7. Good luck on your marathon. I think we are both trying for our second. If a marathon could think, I believe it would be surprised I am coming back for it again after the butt-whooping I took in the first one. I like your word "redemption." I couldn't think of a better word to use. Good luck in your training!

  8. running with other people is way more fun! looks like a great group. hope the mud run went well today! those are so fun but i'm not a fan of trying to reclaim my clothes after 🙂

  9. That is a goal marathon time for me, but I have a lot of work to do to get there! I can't wait to read more about your training 🙂 Looks like a fun group!

Say what?

