Personal Pace Bunny

I decided to mix things up for my intervals this week and headed to a local park to take advantage of the paved trails, a welcome change of scenery over the track. Best of all, I had my own personal pace bunny (a.k.a. my husband).

We hit the trail at dusk in light rain and used a nice 1K stretch for 5 x 1000m intervals. It’s amazing how ‘easy’ 1000 can feel after two weeks of 1600s, despite running more repeats at a faster pace. Having some company helped too!

Target: 4:36 per 1000m

Interval 1: 4:27

Interval 2: 4:32

Interval 3: 4:26

Interval 4: 4:25

Interval 5: 4:22

[2.5K warm-up and 500m recovery intervals around 6:00/km pace]

Yes, you read that correctly! I totally killed it. And you know what? It didn’t kill me! I felt pretty fantastic and only really struggled through the last one (which was the fastest!). What a boost!

The question is: can I do this by myself?

26 thoughts on “Personal Pace Bunny

  1. Awesome job. I'm the opposite. I had my 'bunny' Matt run Nite Moves with me tonight and it just annoyed me! 🙂 I've always been a solitary runner. It's funny how we all have little things that help us go faster.

  2. obviously you can do it, you did it last night! excellent job on the intervals. speed work with a partner is a bit easier 'cause you have something (-one) to distract your mind, but you know you can push the pace so just remind yourself of that.

  3. Hey, nice job on your intervals!!!!! Yes, you totally can–I think that now that you have seen that you can run that fast it'll motivate you to really push it next time you're out by yourself! Good Luck!!!! 🙂

  4. YAY! look at that consistency and killer times, wooooo wOOo. awesome having a pacer and a pusher. def take advantage. i don't think it's "if" you can do it on your own (yes!) but you should work with your pacer to get used to what it feels like and then you'll be off and running 🙂

  5. Running with a buddy helps a lot, its not that you couldn't do it by yourself. Maybe its mental but having someone to run with just makes everything better! Great job on the intervals!

  6. Fantastic job on the intervals! Now that you know you won't die you can push yourself when you're by yourself. Although it is always more fun to have someone to run with!

  7. That is crazy fast! Way to go!I use my Garmin to pace myself and annoy me with the beeping when I'm too slow but having a real person beside you must be even more motivating! Now that you know that you can do it, doing it by yourself is definitively possible. Congrats!

Say what?

