Lived to tell the tale

Fortunately morning dawned with overcast skies, so the stifling air was somewhat bearable when we set out for our 30K (18.6mi) run. The 94% humidity, however, was suffocating. The air was thick and damp and I was glad to have decided to bring my hydration backpack with its 2L bladder. I was thirsty the entire time! I also took my eload zone caps along the way.

A significant portion of our run was along trails, which kept things interesting. We also had a water stop (with oranges too – my fave!) at 21K/13mi, which helped break the run into two more manageable parts.

It went well for the most part, although I was suffering with the humidity. I was just grateful for the thick cloud cover, because we would have been absolutely melting had it been a sunny day.

I lost my group at one point when I had to make a detour for an emergency pitstop (with a case of the lindsays), so I was on my own for the last 8K or so. It was a struggle and the run was pretty slow overall, but I made it.

30.0K (18.6mi)
3:08:54
6:17/KM (10:07/mi)

It’s been a long time since a freezing cold bath has felt so good.

And this concludes another weekly mileage milestone – 76 KM (47.2mi). No wonder I’m so exhausted!

39 thoughts on “Lived to tell the tale

  1. oh my gosh, priceless picture. CONGRATS!!!!! quite the undertaking, especially finishing solo. although i think it's important to do hard runs solo sometimes. we just have to tough it out and it makes us strong!!!! HOLY MOLY WEEKLY MILEAGE!!!!! great work!

  2. Marlene you are THE BOMB! 94% humidity! That's insane and also what we've got to look forward to in about a month and a half. Thanks for the advice on the saddle pack. I don't think there's any other way for we Darwin runners. 30kms in 94 per cent humidity. YOu're amazing.

  3. Congratulations!!! That sounds so hard. You were smart to bring along water, that probably helped you more than you know. That kind of humidity can be brutal and you were able to hydrate whenever you needed to. I love that photo!! That pretty much says it all, doesn't it?

  4. That's not slow at all-about 10 minutes faster than my MSNR 30K race last year in fact, when we had similar STWM full marathon finish times–you are clearly much faster this year-the training is paying off.

  5. ha that pic is awesome!! Good thing you brought the backpack water, very smart! I think i could handle that more than a fuel belt. congrats on another race!! πŸ™‚

  6. OMG I cant imagine running in that humidity! It was hot when i was in Florida and i was dripping all the time while running! I only did 4 miles so I cant imagine what would happen after 18 miles!! Great job! Get some rest!

  7. you survived! πŸ™‚ nice job on the 30k!! love the pic with the water-iv going on, lol. i looove ice baths in the summer. so much easier to handle.and thanksss for the shoutout. in case the whole internet hadn't heard about my #2 extravaganza yet! πŸ˜‰ haha

Say what?

