Week 3 (running in Antigua!)

I didn’t do a whole lot of “training” during our week in Antigua, but we did manage to run 6 mornings out of 7. We looked at some maps online and did a bit of exploring off the resort. The heat and humidity were a shock to the system and we quickly found ourselves huffing, puffing and sweating profusely. We didn’t get very far, but it was still nice to see a little more of the island.
 
After almost every run, I took off my shoes to run a few laps barefoot on the beach. I felt it in my feet and calves by the end of the week, but loved every minute of the wind in my hair, salt on my lips and sand in my toes. After that, we marched straight into the surf for a refreshing swim. No better way to start the day!

Monday – 5.1KM (3.2mi) – 28:54 – 5:40/KM (9:07/mi)

Tuesday – 6.2KM (3.9mi) – 36:05 – 5:52/KM (9:22/mi)

Wednesday – 4.5KM (2.8mi) – 24:54 – 5:32/KM (8:54/mi)

Thursday – 7.6KM (4.7mi) – 43:37 – 5:46/KM (9:14/mi)

Friday – does this count as cross-training?

Saturday – 6.7KM (4.1mi)  – 37:36 – 5:38/KM (9:02/mi)

Sunday – 19KM (11.8mi) – 1:44:36 – 5:30/KM (8:52/mi)
(The freezing cold “welcome home to reality”  run.)

Total Week 3 Mileage: 49.1 KM (30.5mi)
Total time: 4:35:42
Average pace: 5:38/KM (9:03/mi)

It’s not much, but it was a planned recovery week and totally worth it! 

45 thoughts on “Week 3 (running in Antigua!)

  1. so fun!!!! and that trike on the water? yes please!!!!man…i have to admit that i prefer the cold and layers to the heat and sweat. but that's me :)good work getting some good running in on vacation!

  2. Oh, the swim after the run was a great idea! I remember looking wistfully at our kiddy pool in the front yard this summer after a particularly warm run. 🙂

  3. Looks so gorgeous there. I am amazed you put in 6/7 days of running, who cares about the distance. Just awesome. And yes, the humidity will kick you in the butt. When I go from CO to Mexico it is ugly.

  4. Omigawsh, your pictures are gorgeous! I bet it was nice change to run in the warm weather! Glad you were able to get a few good easy runs in. Looks like you two had a fun time in paradise!

  5. Wow! Looks BEAUTIFUL. I could so use some beach right about now. So glad you had a great time. Um, and yes, that big ol' 3 wheeler on water definitely counts as cross-training!Winks & Smiles,Wifey

  6. I want you to know that i looked at every picture of your vacation & pretended i was playing at the beach with you! :)way to be ontop of that running while you were living it up!

  7. You can't underestimate the energy-sapping effects of heat and humidity. My running always goes way downhill over Summer and as soon as it cools I feel like I'm fit again.

  8. Looks like you had an awesome time in Antigua. Way to go keeping the training up even on vacation!In 83 hours I land in Miami 😉 I do not think I will keep such a hard training regimen as you but I'll try to take pictures to keep you all updated 🙂

  9. all i have to say is "i want to be at there." sigh. looks like a fantastic time, and congrats on running on vacay! i'm impressed. i'm going on a week long vacay in a week, except to a colder climate (i realize now this was a dumb choice) and i'll totally use you as inspiration. so thanks! 🙂

  10. I'm so glad you had fun! I'm sure the water was warm and inviting! Good for you for taking it easy and enjoying the down time…but still running. YOu two know how to enjoy life!

  11. LOVE all the pics and NICE job for all the running you did on vacation! Way more than I have ever accomplished ;)Just posted your long ago requested post!

Say what?

