Flashback Friday: Chilly Half Marathon

The Chilly Half Marathon is coming up this Sunday – it’s my first race of the year and I can’t wait!

I first ran the Chilly back in 2008. It was my second half marathon and I finished in 2:01 (12-min PR).

I signed up again in 2009, but missed too much training due to a shoulder separation. My sister and I volunteered in chip removal at the finish line instead!

Last year I was able to lace up again and finished in 1:47:41 (5-min PR).

ο»ΏI love this race for its flat and fast course with very few turns (primarily one long out-and-back along the lake) and the timing is great to gauge fitness early in the season.
Unfortunately Sunday is expected to be windy. 35 kph (22 mph) winds. Ugh. It’s also supposed to be mild and wet on Saturday with a flash freeze over night. Double ugh. Hopefully the conditions will improve or it could be an ugly morning out there.
That being said, I’m ready for this race. Bring it on! I’m anxious to make some of my recent training success official with a recorded time.
Goal (if conditions are reasonable): PR – sub 1:44:48
I have my sights set on something around 1:42. Stay tuned.
47 thoughts on “Flashback Friday: Chilly Half Marathon

  1. You are going to rock it…I just know it….So it might be a little icy and windy…think of ALL the character building 30km you have had this cycle!! You can do it!!!

  2. You can do it!!!!!!! I hope the winds wait until later to flare up!! during my first marathon in OKC, along the lake they were saying winds up to 47 mph!! Shoot me!! But it wasn't that bad thankfully!!! So fingers are crossed for you!!!

  3. Good luck! I hope the wind doesn't blow and you have a wonderful first race or the season – you know that Yumke is pacing the 1:45 group? I'm sure you'll see him!

  4. You are in such great shape and your training has been going so well…you are going to rock this half. If anything prevents you from getting a PR, it'll be something out of your control…like crazy winds and ice. GOOD LUCK!! I hope the weather gods are with you πŸ™‚

  5. Good luck and I'll be thinking of you-the good news is that you've already done longer runs in worse conditions in the last little while. I thought about registering for it as a last minute thing but I haven't gone beyond 13K lately plus your description of the weather means that without having done the training you've done, it's probably a bad idea. Enjoy and rock it!

  6. I remember last year's Chilly Half being quite windy on the way back–hopefully the wind will bring you luck this year like it did last year πŸ™‚

  7. Have a great race Marlene, I'll be there too, hope to see you around (and lets hope the wind subsides), I know wind or not, you will rock it!!

  8. I have faith in you. You can hit that PR. I'll hope for good weather for you. It sounds like it is going to be horrendous here this weekend. Can't wait to hear about it.

Say what?

