Easier With Friends

For the past few summers, I have easily gotten into the habit of early morning runs to (a) beat the heat and (b) fit in all of my mileage. But every year when the biting cold and icy/snowy surfaces of winter roll around, I forfeit those early mornings. I would occasionally hit the gym to hop on the treadmill or do some cross-training before work, but you would not catch me bundling up and hitting the streets before sunrise.

That seems to have changed this year thanks to a good group of friends (and unseasomnably fair December conditions!) who are almost always up for a dark o’clock morning run. I’ve been running at 5am (that means waking up at 4:30!) at least once or twice a week all season so far, with the promise of 1-5 other girls who will be bundled up and waiting for me at the park.

A few times I have gone to bed feeling ambitious and set the alarm for an early solo run, but without fail I shut that alarm off and roll over. Layering up and heading out by my lonesome is just not appealing enough to get me out of bed, nor do I have enough interest in the treadmill to lure me from the sheets.

Typical morning face at 5am:

run-001-225x300Morning face when meeting friends at 5am:

run-004-225x300

Admittedly, that’s my post-run face – I’m not nearly so smiley when we start.

Tuesdays are generally a little tougher (and today was no exception) because I swim Monday nights and get home late, then I usually find myself wired and unable to fall asleep. I definitely could have stayed in bed much longer this morning, but I knew the girls were waiting for me and managed to drag myself out. I never regret it when I do! It’s a great feeling to finish a run before the sun even begins to glow on the horizon.

And that hot shower post-run feels sooooooo good! 🙂

Vega Giveaway closes today – last chance!

28 thoughts on “Easier With Friends

  1. Could not have said any of this better myself! I’ve only ever done the “morning thing” in the summer, until now! And I ONLY get up and go on the days when I meet Kate, or D will get up and walk with me. Going solo? It just almost never happens ( maybe once or twice…), because those cold temps and darker early hours are hard to conquer alone. 🙂

    So glad you have a group/crew to meet, too!

  2. I have been struggling with this. I have no problem getting up at 4:30 am to swim, but getting up to run outside feels like torture. Thankfully, I have a posse to suffer with.

    • I’m the opposite with swimming – NO desire to hit the pool in the AM. Nights are not ideal, but at least I am motivated to go.

  3. I have been an epic fail on my morning runs. You would think that after a decade of doing split runs, I would know the benefits and stick with it but my little guy is a routine monster! He doesn’t want to eat or sleep on a decent schedule which leaves me tired in the morning. But I’m not giving up. I’ll get back into a consistant routine again. Tomorrow is another chance to get it right.

  4. Yay for running friends!

    I can deal with cold or darkness, but I have a heck of a time dealing with both at once. Given that the winters tend to be dark, that makes things a challenge. It is always easier to run with friends though!

  5. I normally just tend to stick with myself during runs, but waking up at 430 to meet friends for a pre light run sounds great. This winter I am waking up at 4 and doing the treadmill dance. take care.

  6. I’ve been successful in recruiting a few of my friends to join me in the summer for early runs (especially if we are doing hill/stair repeats).
    So far…they don’t seem to be too willing to join me on the 4:45-5am runs/workouts.
    Slackers.
    🙂

  7. I’m jealous of your running buddies! Since we moved this summer, I haven’t found much of a running community here… I need to work on that. I’m like you–that’s the only way I can get the early am runs in.

  8. WOW! I love getting up early enough to see the glow of the horizon but even that is hard for me to do!!! How awesome to finish your work out that early. What a great way to start the day.

  9. I totally agree. I meet my pals on Tues. mornings also and I’m always excited to get out there with them. When it’s really cold, we often have a contest to see who will actually get out of their car first! But then we all always do and we have a great run, no matter how cold.

  10. I don’t know how I get up and run through the winter, but I do. It sure is cold and sometimes I don’t want to go out there but it is always worth it. That is great you have buddies to meet in the morning. If I met my running buddy in the morning, I am sure it would keep me from turning off the alarm and rolling over.

  11. Why do I not have any early friends?? My pals do evening runs, which are not my fave due to chilldcare/family constraints. I feel like early am is my only option so I make it work. Even in the deep freeze.

  12. I work so late, morning runs are impossible for me. Although, I always like to be out in the morning to watch the sun rise and the birds start to wake up- always the best way to start the day.

  13. You are a morning rockstar!
    Love your drive/mad amounts of motivation.
    I will say I thought of you when I got up at [gasp] 5:15. Had to tell myself…WWMD?
    What. Would. Marlene. Do. ?

  14. It’s so true. I would never get up as early as I do without knowing there was someone waiting for me. And I probably wouldn’t be as consistent with my training if I didn’t know I was accountable.

  15. I have to get up at 4:50 every day, but unfortunately, not to run! I can imagine that it’s easier to run outdoors and with friends….sure beats my 8:00 pm runs on the dreadmill! I think it’s great that you can get out and run in the mornings, and with friends…enjoy and use that motivation to your advantage…

  16. I live in summer-like temps the whole year. Heat and temps are not my “excuses” for running/working out in the mornings; I do it to avoid missing a run/workout especially with an unpredictable work schedule – late meetings, conference calls, dinners, meetups, the works.

  17. holy…ok i’m an early bird but that is early!! good on ya guys, and having friends always makes it so much easier to get out there so you’re not “that person” who jams… 🙂

  18. I can totally relate to this post. But my problem is I don’t have running friends so it’s a solo run every time for me but it’s so hard these days to get out of bed. I get up at 5.15 am to run or do a workout at home from a DVD in front of the TV. Those last ones aren’t a problem but getting out of the door is. On my run days I would rather stay in bed and sleep a little longer and to tell the truth: I have done it too many times.

Say what?

