Weekend WRAP-Up

The weekend started with Masters swim where I completed my longest to-date – 3750m! There is a good sized group of us who usually swim on the same schedule, which makes it a lot of fun and much easier to stay motivated to head to the pool on a Friday night when I know I’ll be seeing my friends there. Being in the pool for an hour and 45 minutes actually flew by and I loved every minute.

Just keep swimming, just keep swimming…

On Saturday morning I needed a few small things at the grocery store so I decided to strap on my handy Nathan hydration backpack (minus the bladder) and run there and back. The store was already a zoo, but at least I didn’t have to find a parking spot. 🙂 Yay for “running” errands!

RUNch-001-300x225It was a pleasant surprise to wake up and find that it actually looked and felt a bit more like December. I’ve been enjoying the mild weather, but I’m still hoping for a white Christmas!

When I got home it was time to tackle another new milestone with my longest ever bike ride. I hopped on the trainer and cued up The Biggest Loser finale from Tuesday night (somehow I managed to avoid spoilers all week!) to sweat my way through nearly two hours. 50K (31 miles) completed!

SSPX0213-225x300The highlight of my weekend, though, was Sunday morning when we partook in our third annual Santa RUNch (run + brunch). This tradition started a few years ago with just 15 people and only a couple of costumes. Look at us now!

IMG_24861-1024x682LynnPatti-300x249 375365_10150419913997511_626447510_9073214_69035737_n-300x224

 I was pretty proud of my costume this year:

389935_10151072766655454_644290453_22045221_84055616_n1-223x300I ran 11.5 miles wearing this! I wouldn’t say it was comfortable, but it wasn’t nearly as awkward to run in as I had expected. It also kept me nice and warm on what started as a chilly morning. (I was sweating buckets by the end.) Of course I couldn’t reach my Garmin or water, but that’s what friends (and my helper elf) are for.

RUNch-005-251x300We had a fantastic time running all over town, relishing the honks and waves of cars as they drove by. It was impossible not to smile ear-to-ear the entire time.

Post-run it was time to gobble up an enormous potluck brunch spread (complete with tuekwy and all the fixins) – sorry, we were too hungry for photos! Then we continued with our Secret Santa/White Elephant gift exchange, which is always good for a laugh.

RUNch-006-225x300

I can’t think of any better way to spend the last weekend before CHRISTMAS!

DM-300x119HBBC Week 4: Dec 10 – Dec 16
10th: bike 26.2 miles (8.7)
11th: run 14.9 miles (14.9)
12th: run 4 miles (4) + swim 60 mins (6) + F/V (1)
13th: run 6.3 miles (6.3) + bike 12.4 miles (4.1) + F/V (1)
14th: run 8.8 miles (8.8) + swim 60 mins (6)
15th: run 5.6 miles (5.6) + bike 12.4 miles (4.1)
16th: run 5 miles (5) + swim 105 mins (10.5) + F/V (1)
=88 points

26 thoughts on “Weekend WRAP-Up

      • I knew you would appreciate that!

        Tell me more about this Christmas card wreath… I have been trying to figure out a new way to display ours.

  1. Congrats on your longest swim and bike ride, that’s impressive this time of year! And that’s an amazing running group to dress up and do a white elephant together–how fun!

  2. You are just too cute! I have certainly enjoyed following you this year and getting to “know” the running you! I can hardly wait for Boston and sharing this journey. It sounds like we have the same idea for training and “enjoying” Boston. Merry Christmas, my virtual friend!

  3. AWESOME swimming in the pool! It can be so relaxing to just pound out the laps. I kind of miss that! Maybe I can talk Brian into swimming with me during the next few months!

    Looks like a great weekend! You sure were busy! I love your costume for the run! So festive and fun!

  4. So you ran 11.5 as a present? Is that the total length of the Santa RUNch? Just curious….;-) All the outfits look great…what a fun idea to do with friends!

  5. I love your costume. It’s the one that I picked out first in the picture.

    I tried the Kris Kringle cookies for the running group yesterday. They got rave reviews so thanks so much for pointing me to the recipe.

  6. What a great weekend Marlene!

    I absolutely love the Christmas run, the outfits are great. In fact I’m a bit jealous 🙂 I would love to do something like that one day.

    I keep my fingers crossed for a white Christmas for you. For myself I’ll pass, I’m not a fan of snow, not even at Christmas.

  7. Pingback: 2011 Year of Running | Mission to a(nother) Marathon

  8. Pingback: December 2011 | Mission to a(nother) Marathon

Say what?

