Boston Training – Week 1

I was scheduled to kick off Boston training officially in the first week of the new year after taking it down a notch in December to rest up and start feeling fresh. Unfortunately, I got hit with a brutal “cold” on the last day of Christmas vacation, which had me laid up for the better part of the week. It started with terrible head congestion coupled with extreme exhaustion, then progressed to a sore throat, cough and runny nose as the week went on. For the first two days, I could barely get out of bed and had to call in sick for my first day back to work. I made it into work after that, functioning only with the help of Advil Cold & Sinus. I did not run for four straight days – certainly not the best way to start a training plan!

Mondaysick

Tuesdaystill sick

Wednesdayyep, still sick

Thursdayeasy

Finally, I felt well enough to try a run. I played it safe and went on the treadmill so I could hop off easily if needed. I ended up feeling alright and mostly just sluggish from so much inactivity all week. My throat hurt, my head was stuffy and I was a mucus factory, but compared to the exhaustion I had been feeling all week, this was manageable.

jan-3-week-003-225x3005.0KM (3.1mi) – 28:20 – 5:40/KM (9:07/mi)

Fridayeasy

I didn’t seem to be any worse for wear after Thursday’s little run, so I took advantage of the mild mid-day temps and headed out for a lunch run. I still kept it slow, but felt pretty good. I have to admit, the best part was clearing things out with a few good snot rockets. (TMI?)

jan-3-week-004-225x3007.8KM (4.8mi) – 43:31 – 5:36/KM (9:00/mi)

Saturdayrest

Sundaylong

After resting on Saturday, I decided I was up for a long(ish) run with the group Sunday morning for our last ‘unofficial’ long run before the new clinic (which I am instructing!) kicks off this week. It’s been a few weeks since I’ve done a long run and I still wasn’t feeling 100% so I had no idea how this was going to go … thankfully I felt okay. I just took it easy since all I wanted to do was put in some distance, and that is what I did. It’s certainly not as long as I would like to be running by now, but I should be in good shape to start building slowly now.

21.8KM (13.5mi) – 2:05:19 – 5:45 (9:15/mi)

WEEK ONE
Total Run Distance: 34.6 KM (21.5 mi)
Total Run Time: 3:17:10
Average Run Pace: 5:41/KM (9:09/mi)

Bike Distance/Time: 0
Swim Distance/Time: 0

DM1So, this was not how I envisioned myself starting to train for Boston, but like many people have said – better now than at the end of my training cycle! I have kicked this cold for the most part (though cough and runny nose are hanging on) and hopefully I will be able to stay healthy from here on out.

I will have to ease into things slowly after the unexpected downtime, but I’m ready for a real training week… time to get back in the pool and on the bike too!

boxing-day-007-150x15097 days to go…

33 thoughts on “Boston Training – Week 1

  1. YAY marlene. sucks that you are sick but its good to have a plan in mind. i know u r going to kick this training cycle’s behind!

    hope you feel better and take advantage of this great weather and get out there and RUN!

  2. I love how your slow pace is comparable to my fast pace. LOL Good job getting out there even though you weren’t feeling great! Hope that you feel 100% soon.

  3. See–your sick week is equal to my normal week right now–it’s all about perspective! It’s so early in the game, missing a few days is nothing, trust me.

    And I love snot rockets!

  4. Playing it smart will set this week up for you perfectly!

    You are going to ROCK leading this clinic. The gifts in return for your time will be priceless. 🙂

  5. So glad you are finally feeling better. GO BOSTON! So excited to watch your journey. Also loving that you are going to be doing tri’s. I’m so pumped to do them myself. Looking at one’s to register for. I’m going to focus on sprints and olympic distance this summer and move to half ironman next summer.

    Thanks for being such an inspiration!

  6. Bleh, so sorry you were so sick, not fun!! But as you say, better now then later and I always think that Boston is to be “experienced” so enjoy the ride and don’t worry too much about a few days here and there. You are awesome!

  7. I have been following your blog for a few months now I find you to be a true inspiration. I was off running for a while because of a back injury but now I’m up and doing much better. I am also training for a marathon (but not the Boston unfortunately), the Goodlife on May 6th. My goal to complete. The best of luck to you on Boston, happy trails 🙂

  8. Better now than later in the training season. Your base is so strong and you will have lots of encouragement along the way to keep your Boston goals. Glad you are feeling better!

  9. Awesome work but take care of yourself as well – hope this cold you have is gone! I am just shy of getting a face mask for the amount of people I know who have been leveled by this bug.

  10. Sick happens.

    Besides, you were able to get the most important run (the long run) done and you did awesome! You’ll totally rock Boston. No probs.

  11. At least you’re starting this cycle well rested–that counts for something! Now that you got the sickness behind you, you should be good to go for another healthy training cycle. 🙂

  12. Glad you are feeling better! Seems like a few people around me have been sick so I hope I can stay healthy! Great first week! How many weeks are you training (i know silly question slightly – I should just go count the weeks on the calender! )

  13. Pingback: Boston Training – Week 2 | Mission to a(nother) Marathon

Say what?

