Boston Training – Week 2

With the illness from Week 1 (mostly) behind me, I was able to dive into training this week. I played it safe knowing that I wasn’t 100% and cut back on my originally planned mileage, also keeping workouts easy.

You’ll notice that I am clearly in multi-sport training mode. My “A” goal is Boston (duh) and my primary training focus will be on running, however I plan to continue swimming and cycling because I love it and I want to build a solid base going into triathlon season. Supplementing my running with swimming and cycling over my last training season paid off so I’m hoping that will be the case once again. The volume is pretty heavy right now, but I will be keeping swims and rides easy until after Boston and will cut back on one or both if needed.

With coaching the marathon clinic this winter, meaning I have committed runs on Thursdays and Sundays and about 50 people to coordinate, training is definitely going to be a bit different this time around. Let’s see where it takes me!

Okay, enough preamble…

Monday – bike + swim

On Monday evening it was time for my maiden voyage on my new bike. Of course, we didn’t get very far being firmly planted on the basement floor.

eats-003-300x224I don’t have my sensor or computer yet, which means no means of tracking distance/speed/cadence/etc. I just set a stop watch on my phone and rode for 30 minutes, playing around with the gears a bit, practicing clipping in/out and just getting familiar with everything. I can’t wait for spring to see what it’s like outside!

12.5 KM (7.7 mi) – 30:00 – 25.0 kph (15.5 mph) [estimated]

After that I had time for a quick bite and then it was off to the pool for my first swim of the year. I got to play with my new toys (fins and paddles) and finally learned a trick that keeps my goggles 100% clear for the entire workout (baby shampoo!). It was great to get back in the water.

2000m – 1:00:00
400 w/u, 200 kick, 200 pull, 3 x (100 kick, 100 pull, 100 swim), 200 scull

workouts-001-150x150

Tuesday – run x 2 (hills)

I went for a shorty run at lunch to the mall and back to pick up a few ingredients. Love my trusty Nathan Women’s Intensity Hydration Vest  (sans bladder) for “running errands.”

5.6 KM (3.5 mi) – 32:00 – 5:43/KM (9:12/mi)

eats-013-300x260

After work I met up with some friends from the clinic for hills! I haven’t been a big proponent of hill training in the past because (a) all of our long runs include plenty of hills; (b) I prefer to save my legs for extra speed training; and (c) my goal races have been flat. Well, with Boston on the horizon and the Newton Hills, I’m going to incorporate some hill repeats this time around.

We used a local hill with a 1.5 KM (0.9 mi) long incline and did 3 repeats. It’s a moderate grade with a few steep parts along the way, and it just goes on forrrevvverrrr. I was pooped by the last one.

Hills-300x13012.5 KM (7.7 mi) – 1:15:12 – 5:59/KM (9:37/mi)

Wednesday – run + swim

I had a recovery run on deck after work and I wasn’t feeling it at all. I dragged my feet getting out the door and felt tired every step of the way. I just couldn’t seem to snap out of it and I didn’t really feel better as I got going, so I ended up cutting the run a bit shorter than planned. Better than nothing!

5.0 KM (3.1 mi) – 29:50 – 5:58/KM (9:37/mi)

Time for another quick dinner (multi sport training has me constantly ON THE GO!) and it was back to the pool.

2100m – 1:00:00
400 w/u, 3 x (100 kick, 100 pull, 100 swim), 5 x (50 sprint, 50 recover), 2 x 100 pull (paddles), 100 c/d

Thursday – bike + run

Thursday morning was my best opportunity to fit in another week day ride, so that’s what I did. It was tempting to turn the alarm back off, but knowing that I didn’t actually have to leave the house for my workout made it a little easier.

My legs were still feeling really tired, so I just took it really easy and let my legs have a nice spin. Again, speed/distance are estimated.

15.0 KM (9.3 mi) – 36:00 – 25.0 kph (15.5 mph) [estimated]

Thursday evening was our first night of the marathon clinic. It went great! We have a huge group with plenty of enthusiasm. For those of you who have asked, yes I will be happy to share our workouts! We started with just an easy introductory run this time. It was very mild with light rain – we have been having the wackiest January weather.

8.1 KM (5.1 mi) – 48:13 – 5:55/KM (9:31/mi)

Friday – run + swim

The temps dropped suddenly over night and I was in for a cold lunch run! It was brisk and blustery, but nice to be out in daylight. I think this cold was still sapping my energy because none of my runs were really feeling that good.

workouts-005-225x3006.5 KM (4.0 mi) – 36:17 – 5:37/KM (9:02/mi)

I hopped on the treadmill after work just to add a few more, with my ebook propped up in front of me.

4.0 KM (2.5 mi) – 23:12 – 5:48/KM (9:20/mi)

workouts-012-225x300Friday night I had a hot date at the pool, even though vegging out on the couch seemed much more tempting! There were only a few of us there and I definitely slacked off a bit without doing any prescribed workout, but at least I was there…

1700m – 50:00

Saturday – bike (long)

After an awesome sleep-in (much needed after what felt like a looong week) and a lesirely tea & breakfast, I hopped on the bike trainer to try out a longer ride on my new wheels. Not having a gauge of speed/distance made the time drag a bit, but I had Tuesday’s Biggest Loser episode for entertainment. Aside from some soreness in a certain area (ahem), it felt great. I worked up a good sweat and went through 3 face towels!

40KM (24.8 mi) – 1:36:00 – 25.0 kph (15.5 mph) [estimated]

bike-300x206Sunday – run (long)

Brrrrrrrrrr! We were greeted with a brisk -17C (1F) temp Sunday morning for our long run. I was pleasantly surprised that the vast majority of our clinic group still came out to run! We were all bundled up and set out for a great run. Thankfully, there wasn’t any wind; wind would have made it pretty miserable out there.

I am the pace group leader for the ~3:30 marathon group and we stuck together pretty well. Our target long run pace is about 5:30/KM, but my recent long runs have been closer to 5:45 and I was feeling it by the end. I struggled a bit through the last 5K but my peeps were there to keep me going. Felt great to get the run done… until the shivers set in!

25.0 KM (15.5 mi) – 2:19:26 – 5:34/KM (8:57/mi)

cold-long-run-006-150x150WEEK TWO
Total Run Distance: 66.6 KM (41.4 mi)
Total Run Time: 6:24:10
Average Run Pace: 5:46/KM (9:16/mi)

Total Bike Distance: 67.5 KM (41.9 mi) [estimated]
Total Bike Time: 2:42:00

Total Swim Distance: 5800 m
Total Bike Time: 2:50:00

Total Training Time: 11:56:10

DMNote: While I don’t have a complete day of rest, Monday is a very light/short spin and swim, which I would consider to be active recovery. I will incorporate complete days of rest as needed, but this works for now.

91 days to Boston!

39 thoughts on “Boston Training – Week 2

  1. You’re crazy! Also, crazy long distance for a first LSD! Our group was into week three yesterday and the plan only called for 13 (though I did 18). Fun run distance ;-p

  2. I got my bike last winter. It hurts to have it so long and not be able to take it outside, doesn’t it? As for the soreness, have you tried chamois butter? It changed my life.

    Add me to the list of those impressed that you can read while running!

    • I know you can buy a Garmin kit with the speed/cadence sensors that will work with your watch.

      I am going with Bontrager Nod 2 computer with a “duotrap” sensor – my bike has a built in spot for it within the frame.

  3. What a great week of workouts despite not feeling 100%. What exactly do you do with the baby shampoo? I’d love to figure out how to keep my goggles from fogging up… not that I have plans to go swimming anytime soon but it’ll be handy to know.

    • Oh! I guess I didn’t elaborate on that, did I?

      You just put a dab on your finger and rub it generously all over the inside of your goggles in a thick layer. Then rinse VERY well and swim!

  4. Ever since my first marathon (1997) I have used swimming as a “recovery day” because I think it’s an excellent way to stretch achy muscles from all the hard pounding they’ve been put through with the running. Keep up the great work, girl….91 days, how exciting :).

  5. I really think all of the cross training is going to be a huge benefit! 🙂 Enjoy it.
    So are you shooting for a 3:30 at Boston? Keep the training plan coming! I love reading all about it!

    • Not unless training goes miraculously well… even then, I don’t think so. Just want to enjoy this one and not worth risking a blow-up.

  6. Glad to get the clarification on the distance options…we were at 20km yesterday but have been running since end of Nov.
    Awesome week and the winter can go away now…I’ve had enough..

  7. What an impressive week! I’m excited to follow along your Boston training… I have a long term goal of qualifying for and running Boston, I’ll soak up all I can learn now! 🙂

  8. Tell more about the baby shampoo thing.

    You are impressive in all that you do. Very motivating to read.

    Man wasn’t it cold yesterday! Today I was inside and happy to be there.

  9. Someone is definitely back at training 🙂 Great workout week Marlene.

    Suddenly my -2 C run this morning doesn’t sound that cold anymore compared to
    -17 C 🙂

  10. I can’t read on the ‘mill, even if I’m walking LOL. I lose my balance.

    Sounds like a darn good week of training, especially given you are still recovering from the cold!

  11. This is totally random but are you ever exhausted? Like so tired you dont feel like doing anything or do you just keep moving from one high to the next? i’m curious to see how you can do so much? i am tired just thinking about it. 😉

Say what?

