Boston Training – Week 4… with some rambles

I felt sooo much better this week after deciding to back off in my running pace group. Much less stress and I am running more comfortably. <sigh of relief> Thanks so much for all of your positive support and feedback – you all reassured me that I was making the smart decision and not just slacking off.

I’m feeling a bit conflicted about my training these days – I want to keep up my cycling & swimming as I have been (because I love it and because I have a couple of 70.3 races planned this summer), but sometimes I worry that I am not giving Boston training the focus that it deserves. Even as I type “Boston Training” in this blog title, I find myself feeling a little guilty since I am not exclusively training for Boston. Does that make sense?

As I’ve mentioned, I don’t intend to race Boston for a time goal – I just want to soak up the experience. That being said, I know I still need to train well in order to have a successful race. And I feel like I owe it to myself to work for it. That being said, I am in a different place now as an athlete and I think that is okay too. I am nowhere near finished with marathons (clearly), but I am exploring other ventures as well.

My mileage and intensity are much lower, but hopefully the cross tri training will pay off in my overall fitness come April. I am just taking it one week at a time for now.

Anyway, here is another week of my mish-mash training with plenty more silly faces for your viewing pleasure. 🙂

Monday – swim

swim 1600m – 1:00:00
400 w/u, 400 kick, 10×25 sprint, 10×50 drill, 50 c/d

wiaw-002-225x300Tuesday – run + bike

run 9.0 KM (5.6 mi) – 48:00 – 5:20/KM (8:34/mi)
3K tempo @ 4:47, 4:44, 4:46

wiaw-010-225x300 bike 25.0KM (15.5 mi) – 1:00:00 – 25 kph (15.5 mph) [estimated]

wiaw-023-225x300Wednesday – run x 2 + swim

run 5.0 KM (3.1 mi) 30:40 – 6:08/KM (9:52/mi)

Week-of-Jan-23-004-225x300run 10.2 KM (6.3 mi) – 57:02 – 5:35/KM (8:59/mi)

Week-of-Jan-23-005-225x300swim 1950m – 1:00:00
450 w/u, 200 kick, 10 x 100 (25 drill, 50 “brisk”, 25 recover), 10 x 25 sprint, 50 c/d

Thursday – run (speed work)

10.0 KM (6.2 mi) – 56:27 – 5:38/KM (9:03/mi)
Clinic Night: 5×800 – 3:35, 3:41, 3:38, 3:36, 3:43 (oops, got caught in a conversation on the last one!)

Friday – bike, run x 2, swim

bike 12.0 KM (7.5 mi) – 30:00 – 24 kph (14.9 mph)

run 6.6 KM (4.1 mi) – 36:35 – 5:32/KM (8:54/mi)

Week-of-Jan-23-006-225x300 run 4.0 KM (2.5 mi) – 23:51 – 5:57/KM (9:35/mi)

swim 2150m – 1:00:00
450 pull w/u, 6 x 75 kick, 6 x 100, 150 pull, 8 x 50 sprint, 100 scull c/d

Saturday – bike (long)

bike 44.0 KM (27.3 mi) – 1:45:00 – 25 kph (15.5 mph) [estimated]

Week-of-Jan-23-015-225x300Sunday – run (long)

run 30.3 KM (18.8 mi) – 2:52:18 – 5:41/KM (9:08/mi)

Untitled2

WEEK FOUR
Total Run Distance: 75.1 KM (46.7 mi)
Total Run Time: 7:04:53
Average Run Pace: 5:39/KM (9:05/mi)

Total Bike Distance: 81.0 KM (50.3 mi) [estimated]
Total Bike Time: 3:15:00

Total Swim Distance: 5700 m
Total Bike Time: 3:00:00

Total Training Time: 13:19:53

dm

27 thoughts on “Boston Training – Week 4… with some rambles

  1. When I tried to train for both Boston and a 70.3, I ended up with a destroyed piriformis, walking most of the Boston marathon, and peeing blood at the end of the race. I’m sure you’re a lot smarter than me with training, but just be careful not to overdo it. I wish I could have a re-do of my first Boston experience!

  2. I think what you are going through is completely normal. We are so used to focusing everything on marathon training and identify with that being the key to a successful race… when it doesn’t HAVE to be. Look at your last marathon! You were feeling similar feelings and still went out and rocked it. I think your crosstraining will only make you stronger and will be a good mix during the winter months too. I have no double you will get to the Boston start line ready to run a strong marathon and soak up every bit of awesome second that is the Boston Marathon 🙂

  3. Have you ever looked at the Run Less Run Faster training? Even for marathons, it calls for three days of running and (at least) two days of cross training (mainly biking and swimming). So, I think you’ll be okay!

  4. You rock girl, keep up the good work. I wish I was your age again to be able to do all that you do. Now at 42 I’m training for my first marathon. You’re a true inspiration to me and I enjoy your posts, especially your pics. I know you’ll do well, enjoy the process and the end result will go your way.

  5. i kind of ‘feel’ you on this one. just take mine down on distance. i’ve been struggling to find time to get it all in, while training for short little tri’s and train for half marathons at the same time. i do think the x-training will only help the running. and it seems you are still getting in plenty of quality runnings. just keep after it! and go with your gut!

  6. I think you are doing just fine–you’ve got a great base, you’re doing speed and good mileage. Boston will be a good race for you and you’ll still pull off the 70.3s in June!

  7. I can see where it would be hard to feel like you are giving it your all when part of you is focused elsewhere. I think this is a shift for a lot of us who are now taking on cross training rather than just run, run run 🙂

  8. Your training is simply incredible! You will have a great experience at Boston! You could run that in your sleep at the rate you are training! Why you’ve already nailed some long runs! I so enjoy your positive attitude!!

  9. Just think: You’ve already done the hard part by qualifying for Boston. When you run it, you can just enjoy it. So, do what feels most comfortable (and yet challenging enough to be interesting) and you’ll be fine!

  10. You are adorable and I LOVE YOU!!! I think that soaking in Boston is the BEST possible way to approach it. The worst thing would be to go in with an ambitious time goal and have it take away from the overall experience..

    GOOD LUCK!!

  11. I know that you’re not doing all your training on your feet but all your training is aerobic and anaerobic conditioning. Plus not doing quite as much running can help with injury-prevention.

  12. I think that you are trained to run a marathon, so as long as you keep your fitness up and you can run a 30K (like you did on the weekend), you can run Boston. I think that you may surprise yourself come race day! Be careful to listen to your body and not overtrain and I think everything will work out just fine!

  13. Can you go light on the biking and swimming while you train for Boston and then pick it up? Don’t give it up but make it a small part of the whole picture?

  14. LOVE the photos from before and after you long run sunday! I am totally the same way especially when I go right to pilates after my long run Saturday mornings! I just cant seem to warm up! Great week of training – I think you are doing so well with all the training, I know that you don’t want to over do it like Frayed Laces said because that could be bad. You have always been smart with your training so just listen to your body.

  15. You make the best fishy face ever!!
    You’re doing a great service to your body to bring up the pace for Boston, then you’ll recover quicker for a speedier fall marathon! Hoping if I decide to go to Chicago, we’ll meet up!

  16. I think youve got a great mix of activity going and wouldn’t even entertain the idea of slacking because you are not! The XT will payoff in Boston and IMO soaking it up is the way to go the first time around.

  17. Your swimming photo may be the cutest thing I’ve ever seen 🙂

    Good for you for taking a step back and doing what feels right, right now. Cross-training may be just the thing that leads to an unexpected Boston success, anyway!

  18. Marlene I don’t know many other people in blogland that train so much with so much dedication as you do. I think you are going to be fine when that special Monday in April is there. I have no doubts about that, none at all!

  19. My two cents…you shouldn’t feel guilty if you’re *enjoying* (key word here ;)) the training style of mixing in the three sports together. Mileage for marathon training doesn’t have to follow any one, single formula. As long as you’re feeling good on the long runs, and know that you’re building up your endurance + strength one way or another, what’s wrong with that approach? Keep it up, as long as it’s what you’re having fun doing!

  20. You have such a solid, strong run base…that coupled with the amazing bike/swim training you are doing, you are going to have a great Boston experience!
    We had it cold on Sunday but looks like nowhere near as cold as you guys did.

  21. Seriously I have no clue how your training week went b/c my eyes are filled with tears from laughing at funny fish face marlene……HA HA HA HA HA HA!

    Your tri training will have you in better shape than you can imagine for running. it is hard to think that way but all the aerobic and anaerobic wourk you are doing on the bike and in the water is going to help you.

Say what?

