Boston+ Training – Week 8

Another week down and just 7 to go! I’m still making up my “plan” as I go along on a week-to-week basis, with just loose ideas of mileage goals speed work with the clinic. I’m generally running 5 days and swimming and cycling 3 days each, but other than that there is no plan.

This is so different from what I am used to and I’m anxious to have a plan again when the time is right. For now, this is what works. Once this clinic is done and I can focus on ME again, I will be sitting down to write up a training plan for the summer. I want to start ticking off those boxes again!

Monday – Much needed and thoroughly enjoyed rest day (day off work too).

Tuesday – I was lacking motivation and energy (rest days kill my momentum!) and bailed on most of what I had planned, completing only a short run over lunch (5.7K).

runs-and-stuff-009-225x300 Wednesday – Lunch run (9.1K), hour-long ride after work followed by 1:30:00 swim session (3250m).

runs-and-stuff-007-225x300Thursday – Marathon clinic night with an 800-1000-1200-1000-800 interval pyramid. Held on for dear life with my pace group (11K total).

Friday – Very wintery lunch run (cut short in ugly conditions, 5K), one hour ride on the trainer (catching up on Bachelor) after work then an hour in the pool (2150m).

runs-and-stuff-006-225x300Saturday – Hopped on my bike for an hour, then headed out into even more wintery conditions with hubs for an 8K brick run.

runs-and-stuff-012-225x300SundayCharacter-building 20-miler.   

WEEK EIGHT
Total Run Distance: 70.9 km (44.1 mi)
Total Run Time: 6:43:32
Run Pace: 5:41/KM (9:08/mi)

Total Bike Distance: 75.0 KM (46.6 mi) [estimated]
Total Bike Time: 3:00:00

Total Swim Distance: 7500 m
Total Swim Time: 3:20:00

Total Training Time: 13:03:32

Untitled4

19 thoughts on “Boston+ Training – Week 8

  1. Wow a 1:30 swim…that’s awesome! I just started swimming on Sunday and my body is killing from my shoulders to thighs haha. Is there any stretches you do before or after you swim that you find helpful? Any help would be appreciated!

  2. Great workout week.

    Funny that you lose your momentum after a rest day. I’ve noticed I have that too. As long as I keep on going day after day I’m fine but after a rest day I need to start up all over again.

  3. Love the fishface picture!! 🙂 Great job on your week of workouts — I keep forgetting it’s still winter as it’s very spring-ish here. So good for you for rocking the cold workouts!!

  4. I find that after taking a day of from all exercises I feel slow and sluggish too. I was just thinking about that and trying to figure out if I should take a full rest day or not. Lately I have been running 6 days a week and lightly spinning on the 7th. Before I was running 5 days a week and not doing much consistent cross training.

  5. Another excellent week! Your Boston fun plans sound like they are also coming together (via facebook). What marathon is your clinic targeting? How many are going to Boston?

Say what?

