Morning Lover

Last year you would find me out running 10-12 miles before work at least once a week, and shorter morning runs almost every day. It started as a necessity to beat the heat, but quickly became my favourite time to run for other reasons. Once I got into the routine and adjusted to going to bed before the neighbourhood kids, I loved it. The streets are so quiet and peaceful and I loved watching the sky gradually brighten. And of course, nothing beats the sense of accomplishment or sets you up for a great day like a nice run before most people are awake.

I let these runs fall by the wayside after my last marathon and certainly had no interest in putting in those kind of miles on freezing, snowy winter mornings. For a while I had a good routine of running 10K one morning with the girls, but I haven’t even been sticking to that lately. With evening training/clinic commitments 4 nights out of 5 (and sometimes 5!), I have not been able to get to bed early enough to drag myself out of bed at 4:30. I managed a short ride on the trainer on an occasional morning, but it has been a long time since I’ve clocked a pre-dawn morning run.

This week, I decided that needed to change. Wednesday was a packed day with a mid-day physio appointment (no lunch run opportunity) and the dentist after work followed immediately by masters swim, so morning was truly the only time to run. I figured I migyht as well go all in and make it a medium-long run of 10 miles. Getting myself up and out the door into the cold darkness on my own by 5AM was not the easiest, especially since I am out of practice.

Breakfast #1 and browsing Facebook/Twitter before heading out… Hubs thought I looked funny in my toque and snapped this picture before leaving for work.

workouts-and-food-018-300x225Once I got out there and gradually worked out the morning kinks, I felt great and really enjoyed the run. I didn’t have a route planned and just ran all around the neighbourhood streets, adding on loops here and there and not going too far from home. I actually stopped by the house at one ppint for a quick wardrobe change because it had warmed up a lot.

workouts-and-food-019-225x300Finishing up the run with daylight on the horizon was a sweet little bonus. Spring is on the way.

It was so nice to get the run in before work and I rode the high all day long. Now I remember why I always used to do this! I definitely plan to work morning runs back into my routine. In fact, I was out there at 5AM again this morning!

run-002-225x300When is your favourite time to run?

run-003-300x225

28 thoughts on “Morning Lover

  1. Nice jacket, I have the same one. :-p.

    I enjoy a long run starting at 6 or 630am on Sunday’s, but only something 20k or under. I need other people around when I’m running over 2 hours.

    If I didn’t have to leave for work at 625am I would be a short morning runner. 6-8k before work? Yes please!

  2. Definitely mornings like that. I love running/riding while the sun comes up, or when it just came. The peace is amazing, especially for being in the city. You don’t see many people other than other runners.

  3. That light blue jacket is super cute!!! You have the best outfits…I need you to come and shop with me :).

    I’m not a butt-crack-of-dawn early runner anymore. Used to be but that’s when life was a ton more hectic than now….so usually I go late morning. Will need to change that once it gets really toasty here.

    Happy Weekend! 🙂

  4. We were sympatico this week…I did an early 4:30am run yesterday.. I loved it actually.
    Except for wanting to fall asleep at 7:30 last night…..
    I ran this morning too but slept in. Sad when 6am is ‘sleeping in’.

    • you are a morning machine! I hear you on the early bed time, though. After being up at 4:30 Wednesday, I didn’t get home til 10PM! I was feeling it yesterday.

  5. I, too, use to be a morning runner, but I can’t get my butt out of bed. It’s too cold and dark to get up before the sun. Maybe once it gets lighter earlier, it’ll be easier.

  6. definitely the morning! hubs and i would head out at 5:30am last summer when i was marathon training…haven’t done that yet as it’s so dark/cold (yes, we’re wimps!) but looking forward to when things get lighter and warmer. loved running on the quiet streets!

  7. ohhhhhh the morning run. i’ve switched from morning running to lunch or evening running. it just works for me. i’ve considered taking morning running back up when summer hits. but really that’s the only way it will happen. awesome you are back at it! rockstar.

  8. I’m all about the early morning runs, too. But I think it would be hard to do the “late” night workouts that you do and then get up early the next day. I am always in bed by about 9, so 4:30 or 5 don’t come too early for me.

  9. p.s. i am coming to canada again in june! but this time we are heading to montreal, for the grand prix. i just needed you to know i will be in your country 🙂 bummer i won’t be able to meet you. one day it will happen!

  10. I much prefer the morning but where I live it is not safe to run in the dark (country – I won’t do it) and I have a hard time getting up. But I get up early for swimming 2 days a week. That amazes me and I do love the whole feel great all day thing.

  11. I hate running in the early morning and pretty much refuse to do it LOL. My favorite time is around 10am. Good thing I have a flexible work schedule and my kids are in school at that time on weekdays. ;o)

  12. i love to run any time of day. especially since i haven’t gotten to lately. but, mornings are definitely the best, especially when you can catch the first rays of sun.

  13. YAY!! You know I love the morning runs! Some days it is hard to get out to run in the morning especially in winter, but I think just doing easy runs in the morning all year round is the best. Of course sometimes that is not possible, but tempos in the winter are miserable because you just cant get your legs to go fast. Soon though it will be warmer again and Spring is my favorite time to run in the morning!

  14. I’m totally a morning runner! My body is accustomed to getting up before 5 a.m. every morning. I don’t even need an alarm! I like that the streets are quiet, I see the sun rise. Plus, it leaves the rest of the day open to hang with my family and do other fun things. I’ve been using my treadmill for most of my week day runs just because it’s way too dark in the morning. I can’t wait for longer daylight hours!

  15. I was out of bed this morning at 4:45. My back was sore and I couldn’t sleep any more. Lying on the couch didn’t make my back feel any better so I decided to take the dog for a walk so at least one of us would be happy. Best decision ever! My back still hurt but the morning was so beautiful that it made my soul feel better. The world was just mine alone – and Bubbles. And we were happy.

    So I guess the answer to your question is definitely morning.

  16. I was out of bed this morning at 4:45. My back was sore and I couldn’t sleep any more. Lying on the couch didn’t make my back feel any better so I decided to take the dog for a walk so at least one of us would be happy. Best decision ever! My back still hurt but the morning was so beautiful that it made my soul feel better. The world was just mine alone – and Bubbles. And we were happy.

    So I guess the answer to your question is definitely morning.

  17. Soon I will have a new job where I will leave for work at 6:30 and will not have time to run at lunch.. My schedule and favorite time to run will have to adjust..

  18. Same as you: early in the morning before work. I’ve tried after work, after dinner but nothing works better for me than do it first time in the morning. I do my DVD workouts early in the morning too.

    I love to see the sunrise, won’t be long before I will be able to see the first one this season again and the quietness but the best part is that when I drive to work I know I’m already done with my workout for the day and can enjoy the rest of the day without guilt or knowing I still have to get my workout in.

  19. That is great that you were able to hit up your run first thing. I have motivation to go to the gym that early, but make myself run outside alone in the dark just hasn’t been something I could do. So I prefer to run later in the day — though once it starts getting hotter here I may reconsider.

Say what?

