The Next Big Thing

Over the weekend, a friend asked me what my next running race would be. I had to think for a second, and I realized that I don’t have any on the calendar until Chicago. What a difference from previous years when I would easily have 6 or 7 races lined up between now and the fall.  That’s not to say I won’t be running any, but nothing has been decided. This time around I’m planning my season based on tri events, some of which are still being determined.

A few days after I ran the Toronto Waterfront Marathon in October, I registered for Muskoka 70.3. Last week, I registered for another one. I seem to be making a habit of this…

title-milk

Welland Half Iron Distance Triathlon

June 24, 2012

Muskoka is in September and I originally intended for it to be my first 70.3. I later decided that this would be a good addition to the tri roster as part of my training. Given that it is so early in the season and I have not been building my cycling mileage yet, I will most likely be treating this one as a “training day.” A 2K swim, 90K bike and 21.1K run training day…

Welland is a much smaller race and also a “friendly” (flat) course, so I thought it would be a good way to get some long distance tri experience before my “A” race. Practicing things like hydration, fueling and pacing will help me determine what I need to work on over the summer.

Trek-007-300x225We are going to be spending a lot of time together. 

With my focus being Boston until, well, now, I’m on an accelerated 8-week training plan that starts today. It consists of 3 build weeks followed by a recovery week, then 2 more build weeks and 2 taper/race prep weeks. I’ll be keeping it on the lighter side for the first couple of weeks to ease into it and ensure that I have fully recovered.

My primary focus is to build endurance on the bike; I know I can do it, but I have a long way to go. There’s no question that I have the running base, but I’d like to “sharpen up” in that department with less mileage and more workouts. Of course there will be plenty of brick workouts as well. I’m getting back in the pool with Masters tonight and hopefully we can get into the lake before the end of next month.

I’ve been cycling and swimming consistently since last fall so I don’t think it will be too much of an adjustment, and yet it feels so different now that I am actually working from a tri-focused training plan. As of right now, I’m about 20% terrified and 80% excited.

Let’s get started!

25 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing

  1. Absolutely delightful! Although I have been dabbling with the bike and swimming, fear really is holding me back.
    1)I’m afraid of speed/falling on my bike.
    2)The thought of open water swims makes me….speechless.
    I can’t wait to follow your training!

  2. I just know that no matter what challenge you take on, you’ll succeed.

    It’s nearly Wednesday – I’m expecting some incredibly cute pictures soon 🙂

  3. I’m excited for you too! Have a great training, I’ll be here following every step of it.

    And 1 more sleep (at least I do) before your new family member comes home. Can’t wait to see pics. I’m even more excited about that 🙂

  4. Awesome! I can’t wait to see how you do! And then in 2013, maybe, Lake PLACID! lol. I will do be there if you go. Brian and I have wanted to spectate that race for years! But we never know anyone racing, so if you go, we will be there!

  5. Yee-Haa my friend.

    I have found that having a running base for running only is different than having a running base for triathlon. That is not to say that you don’t have the fitness because you certainly do but remember that coming off the bike you are going to be slower so don’t try to push it too hard and end up wasting energy and being flat-out exhausted.

    I can’t wait to follow your journey and talk tri as opposed to ‘just’ running.

    Go for it kiddo…..

  6. Oops, somehow missed this post, but congrats!! You definitely have it in you, although I can understand the 20% terrified. Sometimes I think a healthy fear is a good thing, it will drive you to train well and take it seriously!

  7. Pingback: Welland Half Iron Training – Week 1 | Mission to a(nother) Marathon

Say what?

