Three Things Thursday

1. There have been a few new additions to our bed recently…

bike Miles1-300x225

Well, it’s time to make room for one more because I finally got myself an iPhone.

securedownload-224x300 Hit me with your favourite apps!

2. I seem to have picked up a case of Swimmer’s Itch (aka “duck itch”, which is exactly as disgusting as it sounds) from our regular swimming hole (which we have since boycotted for a lake farther north because it was getting too warm and icky).

Don’t read this if you are easily grossed out…

“Swimmer’s itch … is a short-term, immune reaction occurring in the skin of humans that have been infected by water-borne schistosomatidae…  These parasites use both freshwater snails and vertebrates as hosts in their parasitic life cycles. Mostly waterfowl are used as the vertebrate host. During one of their life stages, the larvae of the parasite, cercaria, leave the water snails and swim freely in the freshwater, attempting to encounter water birds. These larvae can accidentally come into contact with the skin of a swimmer. The cercaria penetrates the skin and dies in the skin immediately. The cercaria larvae cannot infect humans, but they cause an inflammatory immune reaction. This reaction causes initially mildly itchy spots on the skin. Within hours, these spots become raised papules which are intensely itchy. Each papule corresponds to the penetration site of a single parasite.”

Yuck. It has been extremely uncomfortable and the rash is just now starting to subside after 10+ days. I won’t be swimming here any time soon:

Wilcox

3. Tomorrow I’ll be loading up the car with some friends for a road trip! The destination is a secret [for now] and I may be coming back with an announcement of sorts… those in the know: shhhhhh! I promise there will be a full report next week!

Happy Thursday (almost Friday)!

32 thoughts on “Three Things Thursday

  1. You and your secrets!! Hope you have an awesome weekend with whatever surprise you have going on! I am addicted to my iPhone – slightly – and I love Angry Birds, the weather channel, facebook, Pacer, Instagram. I recommend getting the Find iPhone in case it is lost or stolen. its through your iCloud acct I think and it just allows you to find your phone if someone steals it.

    • I have the Fin iPhone one. Have to check out Pacer! Already on Instagram too – gotta find you!

      And re: secret, the funny thing is – you already know. 🙂 (Shh!)

    • Pool is okay! Just don’t go in a lake with ducks, LOL.

      Don’t need meds – it just clears up on its own. Callamine helps with the itch. It is finally almost gone now. I only found out yesterday what it was. YUCK!

  2. if my hunch is correct, then anyone who lives on the dark side has a very strong notion of where you are going and what you are hoping to do… i will say no more.

  3. I love my iphone, maybe more than I love my husband. (OK, not really, but i do seem to spend more time with it than with him.) All my apps are games for kids or beer related.

    I hate secrets. ;o)

  4. Hmm. Can’t wait to hear what it is. That itch business sounds awful. And an I phone is very exciting but it is so easy to check your mail, FB, etc. that it is hard to get out of bed. Words with friends is great. My son swears by strava cycling. I think you might like it.

  5. Yay iPhone!! Boo swimmer’s itch!

    I like instagram, Epic Fail for some funnies, Starbucks (I pay with my phone now), twitter, facebook, weather network and Feedler (to read blogs).

  6. I have to tell you that I have not checked out your blog as often lately since you started doing tri’s as I am a runner specifically. Today I was cruising my list of blogs and thought I’d see what you have been up to lately and what do I find? A diagnosis to my son’s skin condition that has dumbfounded us and his doctor’s. We have a pond in the country that we swim in and we could not figure out how my son and myself kept getting this rash and not the other three in the family. I thought that was so funny that I had to tell you and that maybe I better follow your blog more often. You just might have more to tell me that I don’t know but need to find out. LOL

  7. if you are going where I think you are going…..I am jealous as I have a friend participating there this weekend.
    Duck itch…wtf?? all the more reason for me to not swim.

  8. The things you learn from reading {triathlon} blogs….! Never heard of any itch, but just add this to the long list of reasons I’m not up for an open water swim, uh, ever. 😉

    Have fun on the road!! Those are the best kind of trips, and I’m thinking there’s probably a race involved, too…

  9. I wonder where hub sleeps these days 🙂

    I can pick out a new phone next month but haven’t decided yet weather it’s going to be an Iphone or a Samsung Galaxy. At the moment I lean towards the Samsung.

    Hope you had a great weekend.

  10. I am so ridiculously out of the loop on the running blog world, I’m glad I came back in time for this mystery announcement. 🙂 Enjoy your trip! I hope the rash is gone in time for you to enjoy it.

  11. Pingback: Placid Weekend – swimming & biking the IM course, volunteering, finish line party and registering for IMLP13 | Mission to a(nother) Marathon

  12. Pingback: Insta-Friday | Mission to a(nother) Marathon

  13. Pingback: Muskoka 70.3 – Weeks 2 & 3 Training | Mission to a(nother) Marathon

Say what?

