Remember that time I ran the Boston Marathon?

JUST when you thought I wasn’t going to talk about it anymore. Should have known better. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I found a pleasant surprise in the mail box yesterday…

iPhone-Misc-040After opening the mail, finding the certificate and heading upstairs to get ready for the marathon clinic, I was rooting around in my drawer and stumbled upon a tank I picked up at the Boston Expo, which I have yet to wear.ย Somehow I completely forgot about it in there, so this felt like the right day to bust it out.

One sweaty track session later, it had been broken in. (Super light and comfy, by the way!)

iPhone-Misc-042Crazy to think it’s been over 4 months already. A lot has happened since and there are very big things to come, but I just don’t know if anything will ever compare to the experience, from qualifying all the way to crossing that finish line. Running changed my life and Boston changed me as a runner. To me, it felt like the ultimate achievement – something I never would have imagined possible just a couple of years ago. This may sound clichรฉ, but I think I learned more about myself in my journey to Boston than through any other experience in my life.

I wonder what Ironman will bring…

16 thoughts on “Remember that time I ran the Boston Marathon?

  1. I got mine in the mail this week too, was also going to blog about it lol. I didn’t know we would get this, so wasn’t expecting it, what a nice surprise! The tank looks great!

  2. Happy Friday!! I am sure the ironman will be so amazing! I was just talking to a friend who has done LP the last two years. He said I should try to volunteer at the swimming so I can be a part of the day but then be able to spectate the bike and run! That would be so fun!

  3. I remember thinking I’d be super emotional when I first qualified for Boston. But I was frozen and had been running in freezing rain for 3 hours and 44 minutes and needed my dry clothes – stat – so that’s all I could think of. Haha. Then when I ran Boston the first time, I thought I’d be really emotional crossing, too, but I had some bad GI problems at mile 22 and all I could think of crossing was, “Where’s the damn portapotties??” Bahahahah. I bet crossing a full IM will be the ultimate in emotions. I cried just doing my first little sprint tri. Hehe. Love the top, super cute on you! ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh, btw, I bought a plane ticket to Chicago. I’m totally stupid!

    • You sure have had some tough hands dealt for your big races. Hubs had a similar experience with finishing Boston since he suddenly felt soooo sick immediately after!

      YAY for Chicago! Stupid or not, I’m excited. ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. I totally agree with everything you said. Qualifying for Boston was something that I never really let myself think about because it just seemed so far out of reach. But in running with you for the last few years and watching you bust it out and achieve your goals helped to push me to try to ๐Ÿ™‚ – And now next April I’ll be crossing that famous finish line too! Sounds sappy but I feel like qualifying defined me, and allowed me to dream bigger. Looking forward to the next year with you and all of my crazy IM training buddies!!!

    • Yes! That’s it exactly. It’s hard to explain so I’m glad you get what I’m saying.

      You will not even believe what it feels like to finally do it, with so much build-up. It’s surreal. So excited for you!

      See you soon, IM2B. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Pingback: Muskoka 70.3 Training – Week 7 | Mission to a(nother) Marathon

Say what?

