Three Things Thursday

1. For those who read my training recap on Monday, I’m happy to report that my saddle sore is gone after a couple of days keeping pressure off it. I rode my [hybrid] bike in to work this morning without any discomfort. Phew! Looking forward to picking up my Speed Concept from the shop (tune up) this weekend.

photo61-225x3002. I was lucky enough to receive this luscious box of goodies from Clif the other day. This is definitely going to come in handy with a couple of big races coming up. I’ve always liked the Bloks (although these are some new-to-me flavours to try), but generally stick with Gu gels. I’m excited to try these out! What’s your favourite gel?

photo31-300x2253. It’s [almost] Labour Day Weekend! The timing is excellent since I’m tapering for Muskoka 70.3 next weekend, which means my days won’t be filled with hours upon hours of training. Whatever shall I do with my time??

BONUS! This is what Miles does in the morning when he realizes that it’s almost time for me to leave. He makes every attempt to make me stay home and he is very convincing! Do you know how hard it is to get out of the house for work?! He tugs on my heart strings, that’s for sure.

photo22-225x300 photo17-300x225

 “Don’t leave me, Mama!”

20 thoughts on “Three Things Thursday

  1. Ah, I totally went on a wiki hunt for saddle sores after your recap the other day. Yowza! Glad they are healed up. Enjoy your relaxing weekend! I suggest trying some Palm Bay Tangerine. Very yummy.

    My fave GU is Mandarin Orange. Hands down. I also buy Lemon Sublime and Tri-Berry. I like GU chomps – I’ll eat any flavour. I have had blocks before as well and they are also very good. I think I had a red kind – don’t remember the flavour. Enjoy!

  2. Im a GU girl most of the time. Gels but mostly chomps. I have been thinking about trying the bloks but just have not gotten around to it. I love the mandarin orange but also the lemon sublime. I think they need a chocolate chip cookie dough flavor. Have a great weekend!

  3. while my hoo ha hurts after rides, i haven’t had a “sore.” is it a legit sore?? UGH. can’t even think about it.

    favorite gel…hammer apple cinnamon. yum! and chocolate a close second.

  4. Try giving him a treat when you leave. It serves nicely as a distraction for both of you. We give Scooter a little bone with a scoop of peanut butter in in it every time we leave. Might also be why my dog is a fatty-fatty-two-by-four, but he doesn’t care that we’re leaving; he just wants his damn pb!

  5. I use the Clif Blocks (can’t do gels) and it seems they gave you the blue ones, you never used to be able to get those in Canada (I order online and bought a ton in Boston), they are yummy. Glad your sore is gone, and good luck at the 70.3!

  6. I haven’t had a gel in well over a year BUT the shot bloks I eat by the ton 😉 I see tropical in there (blue) which is SO GOOD. Hope you like them 🙂

  7. I met Miles’s Australian cousin yesterday when Toby and I were out walking.He was five months old and fully brown but you could see the family resemblance.

  8. De-lurking to offer some info on saddle sores… depending on the infection, it can come back within a few days/weeks of healing. If it does, march yourself down to a drugstore and pick up Hibiclens. It is used in hospitals for a reason! My boyfriend had a sore that recurred (there on and off) for 7 years. A week of treatment with Hibiclens, and it hasn’t been back! For your sake, I hope you never see it again 🙂

    • Thanks for the advice! Much appreciated!! Fingers crossed I have seen the last of it, but I will keep this in mind for sure.

Say what?

