We’re off to the windy city!

In April of 2008, 5 months before running my first ever marathon, I went to see a special screening of Spirit of the Marathon. By the end of the movie, I knew I had to run Chicago one day. At the time, I had no idea what it meant to run a marathon – let alone a major marathon like this one. Now, it will be my 11th and my second “major” this year.

untitled-202x300This year I have definitely switched from running marathons for “time” to running marathons for experiences. Boston, while providing the most challenging conditions I have faced, was by far one of the best experiences I have had. And from everything I have been told, Chicago will not disappoint.

untitled2-300x128Training has consisted of 70.3 training with some bulked up long runs. I think I have only run 18+ miles three times and didn’t ever reach 20, but I’m counting on overall fitness to carry me through. After tapering for and recovering from Muskoka, I squeezed in two final long runs over the last couple of weeks with my longest run all summer being last weekend. Since I’m not running for a time goal and don’t have a lot of mileage under my belt, I decided that ramping up my distance would be wiser than tapering down in order to run a smart marathon.

photo4-231x300And look, we’re actually being treated to excellent running conditions! Figures we are getting (rare!) perfect weather in Chicago and I’m not racing, but this just means that my friend Patti and I will get to be comfortable while running through the streets together – in costume! This one will definitely fall under the “fun run” category and I have no regrets about that.

untitled1-300x225We hit the road with our friends dark and early tomorrow morning. Good luck to everyone else racing this weekend and Happy Thanksgiving to my fellow Canadians!

15 thoughts on “We’re off to the windy city!

  1. You’re right! Chicago will not disappoint! Hope to see you at the expo entrance at 3pm on Saturday, if you can make that. If not I’ll be at the start, at mile 2 and at the Lupus Charity tent purple with big butterfly) at mile 14, always on runner right. Have a great race and enjoy!ni will look for the M&Ms!
    PS I have a new puter I have no clue how to blog on yet. Im a Dunce. 😦

  2. I know, figures Chi-town is going to be perfect racing weather when I’m not racing. Had I trained and got into prime shape for this thing, then it’d be a billion degrees. So I guess it was mean to be that we just enjoy and have fun (at least you have fitness to carry you through, I have nothing!). Looking forward to meeting you! 🙂

  3. Most importantly: HAVE SO MUCH FUN! Chicago is one of my all-time favorite cities. Make sure you eat good food and stop by Sprinkles for a cupcake. GOOD LUCK!

Say what?

