End of an Era

324375_10151110042605454_1797539646_oWhen I first brought my shiny new Trek home (let’s call her “Trek” for the purpose of this post, since I am not one to name my bikes), I thought we would be together for many years. We had some great “times” together (in both senses of the word), but in the end… I just didn’t love her enough.

june-stuff-178-280x30016683-874-17105416-214x300After realizing I no longer wanted to pursue Ironman Lake Placid, Trek was promptly retired to the basement, never to see the light of day. I had no interest in taking her out, and opted to ride my beloved hybrid any time I went for a bike ride – even for a metric century ride! The truth is, I have always preferred riding my hybrid.

287507_10150750670905454_6613514_oI thought about it and ultimately decided to sell Trek because (a) it was just too expensive to be sitting around unused, and (b) she deserves to be taken out to go fast and see the world.

BIKE-300x201It was slightly bittersweet to see her go, but no regrets. I wonder where the road will take her next… or me, for that matter!

10 thoughts on “End of an Era

  1. I don’t blame you. If you aren’t doing the ironman, the other bike is probably a more comfortable and appropriate choice. πŸ™‚

  2. Looks like Trek has gone to a good home. I’ve had a few similar items during my life that were not easy to part with. Once you convince yourself that they are going to a better place (at least somewhere to be used more often), the pain of separation begins to diminish. Love the photo of you sleeping with the bike πŸ™‚

  3. 😦 I wish I was the buyer… I need an updated triathlon bike!! I’m sure she was well worth it! I love the picture of you sleeping with it….funny.

  4. You know…the only constant in life is change. At least you know what works for you and I’m very happy that the nameless Trek will find a good home for future adventures. Wishing you and the other 2M’s a wonderful summer of making your own memories! xoxoxox

Say what?

