An Update + Santa Shuffle Race Report

My lack of posting recently is directly proportional to my lack of running, unfortunately. Almost a month ago, I had to stop abruptly mid-run when I had a sharp pain in my quad/IT area. It caused an immediate limp and I was forced to walk back for the first time I can remember – ever. It seemed to come out of nowhere, but realistically it was probably an issue that had been building over time. I swear, I get all kinds if ‘niggles’ when I scale the running way back, as opposed to during peak training. It’s like my body finally has a chance to breathe and say “whoa!”

Anyway, after several chiro and physio treatments, extensive foam rolling in between and more days off than I’ve taken in five years (gasp!) I think I am finally out of the woods.

And I’m back with a vengeance! Ok not really, more like back with very cautious optimism and a conservative return to running.

I’ve been extremely fortunate in my running career that I’ve almost never been forced to take time off (and when I have, it’s been a result of something un-running-related, like a ski injury, infected toe, etc.) so this has scared me into being extra careful moving forward. I’m just glad it happened now so I could nip it in the bud during the off season and hopefully put it all behind me long before tackling neck year’s big goals.

So although I may not be back with a vengeance, I am back with a quick race report.

Hubs and I (and Miles) did the Santa Shuffle 5K in Whitby on Saturday because I had a friend doing her first ever race (way to go, Sarah!) and a couple of other friends who I don’t get to see very often were running as well. It’s not chip timed since it’s considered a fun run, but it’s not a bad deal for $25 with a little goodie bag and a cute medal.

Saturday turned out to be freezing and windy, but thankfully sunny. Unfortunately the race started about 10 minutes late, so we were all shivering like crazy at the start line. Finally, we were off.

I knew I had to keep it on the easy side since I’m being mindful of the IT band. Miles was running with me too, which I figured would help me keep things in check. I started at a pace that just felt like I was working a bit hard and gradually got faster – paying close attention to make sure my leg wasn’t talking to me. It felt fine – phew. We were running on a mostly flat paved trail through a park and it was actually a great route. I saw that hubs was in 4th place as we crossed paths with the lead runners.

I paid attention as we neared the turn-around and knew I was 3rd female and Miles was the 1st dog. 🙂 Sure it was just a fun run, but it’s fun to place – even unofficially. As we passed all of the other runners on the way back, we got so many awesome comments. Everyone just loved Miles and his jingle bell collar.

I’m very surprised at the pace I was able to maintain fairly comfortably, given the lack of training recently. I guess you could say I was very well rested.

I managed to negative split each kilometre, even though I wasn’t paying attention to it at the time. I could see the 2nd place female ahead in the final straight-away, which gave me enough of a push to chase her down and pass with about 500m to go.

4:59, 4:51, 4:43, 4:37, 4:23
(+17 seconds for the extra 70m as per Garmin)

1464117_10153619799895454_1724273925_n-300x300 They announced “2nd female, 1st dog!” as we finished (Sarah ended up collecting my silver medal for me later since we couldn’t stay – I didn’t even expect them to do awards). Hubs ended up finishing in 4th with a time around 20:20 (interestingly he ran a 10K last weekend in 40:40). It was great to see my friends finish as well. All in all, it was a fun morning and a good run.

23:50
4:46/KM (7:40/mi)

IMG_8875-817x1024Best part is, my leg felt fine with just some tenderness in my quads later on from pounding the pavement much faster than I have been recently. I was able to join my running group for a 14K long(ish) run the next day without any issues since. Hooray!

13 thoughts on “An Update + Santa Shuffle Race Report

  1. Well, it looks like you’re on the mend! Hooray! Great race for both you and Mark (and Miles!). You’re looking good and I hope you enjoy a lovely Christmas with your family.

  2. Woot!!! You did awesome! Thanks for running the race and thanks for the shout out on your blog. 🙂 Hope to run another one with you soon! 🙂

  3. Sorry to hear about your ITB. My wife suffers from ITB problems. The only thing that helps her is doing regular gluteus medius exercises, and they REALLY help. She tried all the other things and they really don’t do anything.

      • Awesome. So glad to hear that. I get so frustrated hearing about ITB problem sufferers doing everything BUT strengthening their butts and hips.

  4. Pingback: Annual Christmas RUNch | Mission to a(nother) Marathon

Say what?

