Streaking in December

It all started with an impromptu run with a friend on Monday, December 1st. I almost never run on Mondays, so in my mind this meant I should run every day this month. 🙂 Jokes aside, I wanted to finish off this year with a great month of running, exactly the opposite of how it started. My return to running was slow and steady, and I’ve had many weeks of consistent mileage now, giving me confidence that I had a solid enough base to tackle this challenge.

I think, more than anything, I need to prove to myself that the injury is behind me before kicking off the new year. And, let’s be honest, a little extra motivation to move every day and offset some of the inevitable holiday indulgences won’t hurt me.

Untitled1So far I’ve run through holiday parties, hangovers and head colds; I’ve run morning, noon and night; I’ve run over snowbanks, on the treadmill and around the indoor track; I’ve been running errands and parading through the streets with a bunch of santas and elves.
Yesterday I had my best run yet – 21KM for day 21, my longest run of the entire year and also my fastest post-injury long run. Felt fantastic start to finish and couldn’t have asked for a better day 21.

Image-1Streaking hasn’t been as challenging as I expected. Admittedly, I enjoy taking rest days and I wondered how much I would miss that. Sure, there were times that it would have been nice not to run (on the worst day of my head cold or the morning after my office party) so I just ran my personal minimum on those days: 3K on the treadmill. There’s something oddly comforting and refreshing about knowing that I will run each day. There may not be any guarantee of how far or how fast or when or where, but I will run.

Only one other thing is certain; I will not run on January 1st. 😉 Until then, let’s see what the next 10 days will bring!

5 thoughts on “Streaking in December

  1. What a great way to end the year! I did the RW Run Streak last year, and it showed me that I could run through a lot – weather & physical ailments. Enjoy the close to your streak & 2014 🙂

Say what?

